June 27th: National Sunglasses Day

PhotoGrid_1372302268861

Happy National Sunglasses Day!!! “Ray-Bans got the whole world shaded…” I love my sunglasses. I really can’t go anywhere without them… and they only cost $2.50! Ha! Love it!

bloggif_51cbce3cbbac9

The idea of sunglasses go back to prehistoric times. The Inuits actually had “glasses” with flat slits to block reflections from the sun. Then also in Roman, Ancient Chinese, and other cultures different types were used as well.  Colored lens, for the most part, started out as prescriptions. It wasn’t until the early 1900’s that sunglasses became popular. Apparently, what made them so popular was the fact that movie stars wore them for a disguise (this makes me laugh for some reason… “I saw Cady Heron wearing army pants and flip flops, so I bought army pants and flip flops”).

Now sunglasses are a staple in the modern day attire. And what says summer more than flip flops? Sunglasses. Which I actually have a sunglasses story. I know what you are thinking… “Kathleen, you seriously have a story about these?” You bet your little tookus I do! When my sister and I were in college up in Oswego, our mom came to visit and we decided to take a little adventure up to the Bluffs.  A little ways in, we came across a fallen tree and we had to crawl under it.  However, sitting astride the truck was a pair of sunglasses… really nice and expensive ones, like Ralph Lauren. I couldn’t help but laugh because it was so funny and random, so I took a picture of it.  We almost took the glasses as well, but then thought… mmmm better not. A little further in the path we came across the middle aged couple and the guy goes:

Guy: “Excuse me, have you seen a pair of sunglasses”

Us: “Yeah! Back there on a tree trunk.”

Guy: *says something to his wife about knowing where they would be*

Me: “I got a picture of them…”

Guy: “Oh my god, let me see…”

Me: *getting the picture up on my camera, then look at him like I’m interrogating someone* “Are these your sunglasses?”

They guy started laughing and they were like I can’t believe it! Hahaha! We ended up running into them again on the way back and apparently they weren’t there. I should have emailed him this picture:

wpid-Screenshot_2013-06-07-22-45-12-1.png

Some things, I feel, the Entertainment business had taught me about sunglasses:

-Investigators and law enforcement use them to create a dramatic feel

bloggif_51cbcd22e58d8

-Cool guys wear them while walking slow motion away from explosions without flinching

-They give you super powers

tumblr_mbceqowZJK1qftwhy

-Badasses and big shots wear them

Tony-Stark-Sunglasses-Iron-Man-2

-Wearing our sunglasses at night is cool but in some cases are frowned upon

-Glamour

tumblr_lywsqwNUF81r9rp3co1_250

-And you are almost invincible wearing them… almost

Hopefully it is sunny in your neck of the woods so you can fully enjoy this holiday! A quick little fun fact. Did you know that the first successful sunglasses to be marketed were the Aviators?

 

Leave a Reply

